Tech Tools for Learning: A Collaborative Presentation

Wow! With so many tech tools out there now-a-days I get easily overwhelmed.  The who, what, when, where, why (and how)?  All the tried and true questions that get quick answers, that’s what I needed to ask when reviewing 2016’s top 200 tools for learning. In which ways can these tools assist in the educational equation? This week I teamed up with 4 fellow classmates to evaluate a portion of the top 200 list.  We decided to each pick a tool of our choice and agreed on the criteria to present.

The collaboration process was a chance for me to utilize team skills that I really hadn’t used in quite some time.  I found myself not “sitting back” as much I thought I would have but instead, having a voice conducive of a leader.  I really surprised myself.  Perhaps it was the fact that I was a “few” years older and more vocal about my opinions.  Maybe I was selfishly thinking about the project and what grade I would get.  Nonetheless, I learned about tech tools that I had never heard of before.  I got to create my very first Google Slide and Google Form too!  I really had a good time learning new applications and it wasn’t as difficult as I had built it up to be.

“A smooth sea never made a skilled sailor.”  ~Franklin D. Roosevelt

Without further ado I invite you to view our group’s:

Tech Tools for Learning Presentation

Please take a moment to check out our Google Form and fill out the survey

One thought on “Tech Tools for Learning: A Collaborative Presentation

  1. My ratings on the ISTE standards were pretty similar to yours. Although I’m considered a millennial, and we’re supposed to be a very “tech-savvy” generation, I do not consider myself tech savvy at all. So to answer your question, I rated myself on a scale of 1 to 5 (1 being absolute beginner and 5 being completely proficient). For the first standard I gave myself a 3 (intermediate) because I feel like I am capable of developing and modeling creative lessons, however, I still have a lot to learn when technology is thrown into the mix. For the second and third standards I gave myself a 2 (basic) because I feel like I have a basic understanding of digital tools and can possibly model a few, however, there’s a lot of room for growth and improvement. I gave myself a 3 (intermediate) on the fourth standard because I feel pretty confident in my digital citizenship and etiquette, but similar to you, I might be missing something and can always learn more. Finally, I gave myself a 2 (basic) under the fifth standard because I do not participate in additional tech events or workshops.

    Here’s a link to an interesting article about how teachers can be the ones to change the course of tech development:
    http://www.edudemic.com/teachers-will-change-the-future-of-tech/

    Like

Leave a Reply

